Sunday, August 4, 2019

Waking Up & Falling Down: Second Bookend of the TotKW Saga

Second Bookend:
Waking Up & Falling Down

Epilogue of Book I & Prologue of Book II

The story of Larin the Builder
in the Epilogue of Awakening
& the Prologue of Broken

This two-part novella contains both the epilogue of Book One and the prologue of Book Two in the Chronicles of Mother's Gate series.

It is the second bookend of the Tales of the Known World saga, and is best read after finishing the first book, Awakening.

It's a great follow-up to Book One, a bonus story that adds extra layers between books without being necessary to the main storyline.

It recounts the story of Larin the builder, who wakes from her ordeal only to lie about her memories of it, and whose ordeal first begins when her soul is cast into the Nine Hells.

Want an ebook but don't have a Kindle?
Get the free reading app here.

Waking Up follows the story of Larin, who is alive but unconscious after her ordeal in the Nine Hells.

She awakens in A'lara City a few days later and recuperates under the steadfast care of her repentant friend Jorn.

As she reacclimates to her waking state, Larin struggles with her gruesome memories of the Hells and her decision to conceal them from Jorn.

This story answers the question, Is Larin all right? with a resounding yes, and some storms on the horizon. It also raises the question, What happened to her down there? and transitions into the sister story Falling Down, about Larin's ordeal in the Nine Hells.

In Falling Down, Larin begins her ordeal when her soul is cast down into this eerie realm.

Disoriented and alone, she confronts a timeless abyss and journeys to emerge from it unscathed. But all too soon, the pain of her new reality sets in.

When she escapes the abyss at last, Larin encounters another disembodied soul and learns the chilling truth: she must absorb the alien magic of the Nine Hells if she ever hopes to find her way out.

This story answers the question, What happened to her down there? and raises new questions about Larin's fate. These questions transition into Broken, Book Two of the saga, where Larin's story continues, revealing more about her trauma and the epic journey into healing she must undertake.

Praise for Waking Up and Falling Down:
Loved it. The difference between the two stories is great!

The difference between Waking Up and Falling Down is astounding. So much light and love in the first story. You feel safe reading it. Healing.

The second, so much darkness, pain and despair. The choice of vocabulary is awesome and makes an impact.

And this set of short stories ties the two saga novels together so well.

-- Dana V. of Texas ★★★★★

Have you read this short story?
Please write your own review.

See all TotKW reviews at

Liked this? Share, please!

1 comment:

  1. Thanks for visiting! What made you check out this post?


Hello, there! Connect with me:

Leave a comment, ask a question, share a story, make a friend.